Survival guide: How to spend Christmas in hot climates.

I have never had a white Christmas. I know the concept of it, I know that it happens in some places of the world, but I’ve never experienced one and I am more than ok with it.

My Christmases have always been in Mexico and this year was no different. Mr Husband and I flew to Mexico City on the 19th of December and spent most part of the first week horribly jet lagged and in a constant battle with the neighbour’s dog that just loves barking for the sake of barking. There was a point when we even considered that we had personally offended the dog and that its barking was its revenge, needless to say the dog was the winner. But fear not, we will be back, and this time we will have a full battle strategy. Let’s see who can bark the loudest: two grown up adults or one labrador dog.

Once we surrendered to Her Royal All-Night Barker, it was time to leave my parents’ house in Mexico City to go to their weekend house in a nearby city called Cuernavaca. Cuernavaca is known to be the City of the Eternal Spring, throughout the year the weather is warm and, quite frankly, it is absolutely gorgeous to leave a foggy city to be welcomed by constant sunshine. I understand the attraction of a snowy Christmas but I also like the perks of having multiple beers and prosecco by the pool.

Ever since I was younger my family and I have spent Christmases in Cuernavaca. All my aunties, uncles and cousins come together to devour massive amounts of food. I know it is very common to overeat during the festive period but you should meet my family. Just to give you an idea, this year my mom and her sisters decided to cook a paella. They planned it for 14 people; they cooked a paella that weighted 35+ kilos. The consequences of these calculations are that we are expected to eat paella for years to come. We are thinking at least for the next 5 years. Oh how much I love my family and paella!

So, how do you spend Christmas in hot climates? Exactly the same as you do in cold weathers: surrounded by family, friends, food and drinks. The main difference is that in Mexico you get to hit, with a dubious stick, a furiously-moving colourful piñata. All of these whilst blindfolded. As you can imagine it is a life or death situation but it’s totally worth it because, if you are lucky and aggressive, you get sweets when the piñata breaks.

Mariana Beresford

2 thoughts on “Survival guide: How to spend Christmas in hot climates.

Leave a Reply

